Partita n.2 in d minor BWV 1004
1. Allemanda
2. Corrente
3. Sarabanda
4. Giga
5. Ciaccona

Sonata Op.115
6. Moderato
7. Andante dolce
8. Con brio

FRITZ KREISLER (1875-1962)
9. Recitativo und Scherzo-Caprice op.6

EUGÈNE YSAΫE (1858-1931)
Sonata n.2 Op.27 n.2 Obsession
10. Prelude
11. Malinconia
12. Danse des ombres
13. Les furies


Público, Cristina Fernandes, December 2009

“With the exception of the Sonatas and Partitas of J. S. Bach, the recordings dedicated to the solo violin, without another instrumental support, are rare and constitute always ambitious challenges. But violinist Bruno Monteiro didn´t let himself became intimidated and heads in his fourth CD by the adventure of the absolute solo with nonchalance. The program was chosen according of his personality, allying "the virtuoso side of the instrument to the more intellectual side of composers of reference". It includes the Partita nº 2, by J. S. Bach; the Sonata op.115, by Prokofiev, and two works of virtuoso violinists that admired themselves mutually: the "Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice" op.6, by Fritz Kreisler (work dedicated to Ysaÿe) and the Sonata nº 2, op.27 nº2, "Obsession", by Eugene Ysaÿe (written for Jacques Thibaud). This last piece is a homage to Bach, citing literally several passages of the great baroque composer, but combining them with lines of romantic language. This stylistic commitment, allied to the writing of someone that knew deeply the instrument, seems to adapt very well to the musical profile of Bruno Monteiro that highlights with eloquence the diverse expressive and aesthetic universes of the work. From the beginning of the recording, he shows a bright and beautiful sound. (…) The result that Bruno Monteiro obtains in the monumental "Ciaccona" is admirable. In this page full of difficulties, a real "tour de force" for all interpreters, he shows a big technical control, sharp musical intelligence, good sense of polifonia and of the multiple contrasts of this fascinating music. In the Sonata op.115, by Prokofiev, and in the "Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice" op.6, by Kreisler, Bruno Monteiro reaffirms qualities such as lyricism, rhythmical vigour, technical agility and strong emotional involvement."


Jornal de Letras, Maria Augusta Gonçalves, December 2009

"A new CD of violinist Bruno Monteiro, now alone. The musician face to face with the Masters, the interpreter before the works and nothing else. The challenge is confirmed: "The risks are big", writes Bruno Monteiro, in the program notes that accompany the CD. There is not support or interaction with others musicians, only boldness and total delivery. As regards the repertoire, it increases the challenge itself. The program includes the 2ª Partita of Bach, seminal work for solo violin, the 2ª Sonata of Eugène Ysaÿe, Obsession, dedicated to Jacques Thibaud; the Sonata in D Major, Op. 115, by Sergei Prokofiev, and the Recitativo and Scherzo Caprice, Op. 6, by Fritz Kreisler. To begin the journey with Bach and his 2ª Partita is, so to speak, to replace "the world´s origin". Afterwards came the Op. 115 by Prokofiev, the Sonata for solo violin or for violins in unison, of 1947, example less known of the permanent contrast of ideas, characteristic of the composer. Between Prokofiev and Ysaÿe, we find Fritz Kreisler, if it wasn´t necessary to recuperate the breath. But the piece, although short, does not give rest, by the extreme virtuosity and by the dramatic tension, not always associated to the interpreter-composer. Finally, the 2ª Sonata of Ysaÿe, one of the six works that the composer and Belgian violinist resumed, 200 years after, the pioneering attitude of the master of Leipzig. The Prelude, by the way, resumes to the 3ª Partita of Bach, citing it and developing it, with a "plasticity" only possible in the 20th century. It is like everything was prolonged itself in time, from the beginning to the end of the recording. A high bet, a bet earned. Of the CD edition completely assumed (author´s edition), it is still important to congratulate the technical work of José Fortes."